National Research Infrastructures participate at the Australian Science Communicators Conference 2023

March 10, 2023

The ASC2023 Conference, Hindsight, Insight, Foresight brought together those who work, research, study, or have an interest in the communication of science, including communications and engagement representatives from NCRIS facilities, all together under the Shine Dome in Canberra. This annual conference is orhganised by the The Australian Science Communicators, which is the peak body for science communicators and science journalists in Australia.

Outreach and Engagement manager Natalia Bateman (ACCESS-NRI) partcipated as one of 6 panelists on the NCRIS Comms Network Panel “Communicating Research Infrastructure in Australia” alongside her colleagues Ms Emma Joughin (AURIN), Dr Marina Trigueros (Phenomics Australia), Dr Christina Hall (Australian BioCommons), Ms Belinda Cay (APPF), Ms Jo Savill (ARDC), moderated by Phil Dooley (HIAF).

The National Collaborative Research Infrastructure Strategy (NCRIS) program funds 27 projects that provide research infrastructure across astronomy, biodiversity, geoscience, supercomputing, climate science, nuclear science, health, data and more. The projects support researchers by providing access tools, data, software, technology, facilities and technical expertise. The NCRIS Communications Network links all the communicators and engagement professionals from all the diverse NCRIS facilities and meets monthly to discuss shared experiences and organise collaborative projects.

The audience learnt about the unique challenges of communicating research infrastructure, discovered how experienced communicators use different channels and tactics, what has worked and what has not worked, leading to successful initiatives across the NCRIS community and beyond. The audience had the opportunity to ask questions to the panel members leading to an engaging discussion about future opportunities.

Image: Top (L to R): Ms Natalia Bateman (ACCESS-NRI), Ms Jo Savill (ARDC), Dr Marina Trigueros (Phenomics Australia), Ms Belinda Cay (APPF), Ms Emma Joughin (AURIN), Ms Karina Nunez (Pawsey), Dr Christina Hall (Australian BioCommons), Ms Philomena Manifold (AuScope). Bottom (L to R): Dr Phil Dooley (HIAF), Mr Christian Gomez (NCI).


News and updates

Subscribe to our contact list and receive our latest news and updates directly to your inbox.